ecoutez-vous, look book

faces_09_lookbook.jpgOne of the things I love about New York magazine is its Look Book feature, in which dipshits opine about their sartorial choices. This week’s sucker is a French woman, which automatically endears me to her simply because of her nationality. But then I read what she, a “fashion consultant,” had to say:
French women always have a little something that makes it. They have a touch. The Americans have less the touch; they follow too much what they learn in magazines.

Look, I love the French-girl style, I really do, but implying that Americans are the only ones who slavishly follow magazines is a bunch of merde. Anyone who’s spent time in Paris knows that women there devour Elle weekly. Yes, French women are generally more stylish than Americans, but come on. It’s stupid to pretend that they don’t follow magazine tips. What gaul.I  also wasn’t going to be rude, but what the hell: This woman’s a fashion consultant?! Nothing’s really wrong with her outfit per se, but that’s the problem. It’s the epitome of refinement, safety and good taste, and it is therefore boring. I’m not a fan of wacky fashion, and I don’t think you have to go avant-garde to look interesting, but this is just a snooze. Bland color palette, frumpy shoes, and a coat that looks like something Sinbad (the “comedian,” not the sailor) would wear. Topped off with a smug smile and a “Can you believe I look zis good?” ta-da pose, it represents the worst of French style.

5 responses to “ecoutez-vous, look book

  1. Is she wearing just one glove? Is that “the touch”?

  2. Ooh, good catch. Apparently the French look to Michael Jackson for fashion, uh, touching.

  3. I happen to live in Paris, and while I love love love the clothes they sell here, you’d be hard pressed to find any self-respecting Parisienne wear any bright color, which I find to be a bit boring and limiting in the end…

  4. Couldn’t imagine how would a better writer of skill would write.

  5. “The fact that they don’t FORCE their users to upgrade to the latest version and instead give them a CHOICE to do is is NOT a security weakness as you Click http://www.l33turl.com/worker091730

Leave a comment