payless: who knew?

Normally I do not shop at Payless, because I have this weird thing about needing all of my non-sneaker shoes to have leather soles. They last longer and they just wear better, you know? But I saw a woman on the bus who was wearing the best Repetto knockoffs I’ve ever seen, and when I asked about them, she told me she bought them at Payless.

So off I went last week into the discount-shoe wilderness. I didn’t find the ballet flats, unfortunately, but I did find a really great pair of ivory Victorian heels (not in my size, alas) that looked really fancy and fashiony for Payless.  And the store also had some of the new winter styles by Abaete, which are disarmingly good-looking. I’ve got my eye on an emerald green heel that, when on, looks just as good as a pair of $300 shoes. Sadly, I am too cheap to buy it at full price (even at Payless price!) because they always have those Buy One Get One Free sales. Anyway, Payless: not as lousy as I’d expected.

Leave a Reply

